Praying Without Ceasing

Standard

     Last night I stayed up until 330am thinking about Charleston. It hit close to home for me because all of those people were at their weekly prayer meeting that all Protestant Christians attend. It made me think about my family which has deep roots in the AME church. It made me think about all of the people we have lost in the world to senseless violence.
     I prayed for everyone. I went to sleep. I woke up wishing that it hadn’t happened but it did. I don’t have the answers. I just feel numb. I’m hurting and praying for everyone. I’m not Jewish but I wonder what the world would look like if we all sat shiva.
       Again,  I actually don’t have any answers. I’m just praying for God’s peace, comfort, and justice. The reason why every incident of violence is so important is because it could be any of us at any time. Sadly, I feel that we are not learning from history at all and instead are dare I say hell bent on recreating every horrible event in history throughout the world.
     I’m praying and I’m drinking a lot of tea. I’m trying to take it easy but this hurts so much. It hurts all of us so much.
Shalom
Namaste

Leave a Reply

