What A Friday

Standard

Hey blog readers,

If you are reading this, then congratulate yourself for making it to Friday. Whoo! I am so excited that I made it to another day. I love the weekends and I love Fridays(and Wednesdays but who’s counting). So last night I started working on my code and it ran and I went to sleep a happy camper. My paper is done(minus a few edits) and I couldn’t be happier(since I was happy to tell my professor that it was done). We are turning in final drafts on Monday for a triple peer review and then the final, final paper will be due after that. The great thing about this paper is that it also serves as my lit review for another class that is due at the end of the month. I am also current with my methods assignments( I have one of two due next week, so my plan is to edit and then work on it as a break). So I am looking forward to fun times this weekend.

Also this weekend I hope to workout too(since I won’t feel as rushed or stressed as I did earlier in the week). Running and exercise in general are such a release for me. I don’t know why I neglect them at times(usually when I am really stressed out). I mean even yoga and breathing help in a pinch.

This afternoon I am attending a demography workshop by one of the top scholars in the field(Dr. Green). I cannot wait to meet him. He does some awesome work at the University of Mississippi. Yesterday, he gave a talk but I had to work so I missed it. That’s why I am so excited that I have the opportunity to attend the workshop.

Yesterday I went to a networking mixer which was super awkward(not my fault at all). It just wasn’t prepped well and I don’t think they had the turnout that they were expecting. But one good thing is someone wants to read my papers. So I thought that was cool. Today I am looking on the bright side at everything. It makes each moment better. Plus, it feels good knowing that I am on the right track. I talked to a good friend yesterday about some of my experiences and she shared some similar experiences that she faced in grad school. Sometimes it just helps to know that you aren’t alone. She also mentioned some of the things that Eleanor Roosevelt went through in her life and how she overcame them. I love Eleanor Roosevelt but I didn’t realize that she had faced a lot of adversity.

Have a great day!

Shalom

Namaste

Leave a Reply

