When Things Blow Up In Your Face

Standard

Hey blog readers,

Sorry I haven’t been posting, I have had a wacky week. Well, I found out that I didn’t get the assistant-ship and my food stamps weren’t renewed because I don’t work twenty hours or more a week. So, I emailed everyone I could think of(I’m looking at you Sen. Cruz with your no reply email)  and instead of just thinking about myself I petitioned for the school to have a food bank site or food pantry for students on both campuses(just in case the school couldn’t think about increasing the hours of pay of students).

I have a lot of stuff do in a few weeks so I have been a tad stressed about it. Tonight I am giving a presentation on nutrition and health as it relates to migration. I just think it is so ironic that I am researching food insecurity while facing food insecurity.

Last night a friend posted a fitness challenge for April and this morning another friend called me for fitness encouragement so I took those as signs to get up and get moving. I ran 6 miles and did 60 squats and 20 pushups. I don’t know if I will ever get better at pushups or even like them lol. I have such weak upper body strength.

I am grateful that I am not in a position where I don’t have anything to eat in the fridge. I am grateful that I do have food to cook and eat. I am grateful for everything that I have. I just feel that more should be done when it can be. So I am trying to balance that out with the sadness that I didn’t get picked for the research position. I know I’m not the first person in the world to not get picked for a research position but I felt like I could have done a good job.

Such is life right, I mean there are so many things that we know but until it applies to us then we think it is unfair. Life for the most part isn’t fair for a lot of people so we have choices. We can keep pushing forward in spite of it all or we can let the unfairness stop us and keep us down.

I had some students in my program ask me if I was going to quit and I wouldn’t give anyone the satisfaction of quitting. This program is about making my dreams come true one class at a time. Maybe I am not a genius or a favorite but I am learning a lot and one broken code at a time and one rewritten paragraph at a time I will make it. I really don’t have any other choice because as wild as my day to day life is/seems, I have been through much, much worse.

Okay off to finish this powerpoint and figure out how to become a better writer 🙂

Shalom

Namaste

2 responses »

  1. George and I liked your post. When it seems like things couldn’t get worse, the powers that be make sure they do! :-). We think of you often and there aren’t enough words to say how proud we are of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

