Prickly Pear 50k,Potatoes, And A Unicorn

Standard

Hey everyone! Just wanted to give a bit of a race day recap. I can’t do mile by mile but will do my best. The day was pretty epic overall. I can’t wait to do it again.
So the night before I stayed with friends and had pizza and ice cream. The morning of the race I had the rest of the pizza. We went to the race site and I was excited and nervous.
I got my packet, checked my bags, and started talking to people to find a ride home after. The first group let me know that they were too fast for me. The second group was more than happy to help me out.
Then I meet this cowboy(he had on a cowboy hat).We started talking about running and I noticed that he had sandals on. Now this did not surprise me because I had just read Born To Run for the fifth time. Then he started talking about so many things that were in the book. I asked him if he wasn’t sure that he wasn’t written about in the book and that Matthew Macaunaghy wasn’t playing him in a movie. He literally looked like his twin. He laughed it off and told me about what was going on in that region of Mexico.
I was blown away. So I asked him if he was real. He asked me if I were real. I said I thought so. I told him he was a unicorn.
So we headed to the start. I gave him a hug and off we went. I ran and ran. Mud caked my shoes. I tackled every hill I could. I thought I heard a girl singing Frozen, she wasn’t. I talked to a lot of butterflies. I felt great. Going up the biggest hill around mile 5, someone spotted a boar and I screamed and went flying. So then I was trying to run from phantom boars.
Until I didn’t,  had to take two restroom breaks around mile 10 and 12. I kept going.  A really encouraging friend kept me on track until then. I made it to 15.5 miles with time. The ten milers felt bad for me to keep going so I shook them off.
We ran through the finish to do the second loop and then I realized I had to face all of those hills again. Well, I saw a couple of girls and we decided we were finishing no matter what. Well, around mile 27 I tripped in a single jeep track. Once it registered that no one would pick me up, I popped up and kept running. Mile 29 was probably the hardest.  But we pushed through and I kicked to the finish.
The food along the course was great. They even had potatoes which were magical. I made some amazing new friends and I have long lasting memories. Now I’m recovering with rest and walking. I feel great but I’m going to take it day by day.
As for the unicorn,  its always nice to dream and maybe one day I will meet one of my very own.
Until next time,
Shalom
Namaste

Leave a Reply

