The Journey To Me Through Roots

Standard

Hello blog readers and viewers,

I woke up this morning to the news that my initial ancestry dna results were ready. I was so excited. The results confirmed a lot of what I already knew and also provided new questions. I used the 23andMe site but there are various ones out there that you can try.

When I was growing up I was always teased for how I looked and when I was little I would tell people that my whole family was Black even my dog but the reality is, both of my parents were mixed. I was just off by the actual percentages. So, I am literally a melting pot of cultures. I was so excited to get these results and now I’m just trying to absorb it all. Have you ever been interested in learning more about your family history?

Just in case you can’t read it, it states that I am 56.3% Sub-Saharan African(50.4% being West African), 42.6% European(21.8% being Broadly Northern European and 10.4% British and Irish), 0.4% East Asian and Native American(0.4%Southeast Asian), <0.1% South Asian, 0.6% Unassigned. So that’s my breakdown. Also I am 2.1%Neanderthal lol I think that explains why my family has such strong bones. I think the Asian lineage explains my eye shape.

Ancestry

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

