100 Gifts/Counting Gratitude

Standard

Last  night I took the time to actually count my blessings and I came up with one hundred. I was so thankful to even have the opportunity to do it. What a great gift, to offer gratitude and thankfulness for what we have been given. Today I woke up in a great mood. I went for a walk(I was able to run a little). It was awesome to see the sun out against the backdrop of the morning. Tomorrow I have a long run(24 miles) which I will probably be breaking up.

Today I am taking it easy. Just putting the finishing touches on my life tables(they look great). Then I will start my fertility assignment(we get to use the same populations). I am looking at African American women and American Indian/Alaskan Native women. It has definitely been interesting and I can’t wait to see what else I learn.

I have been thinking about going gluten free(because I probably need to) so I am going to try and wean myself off of what I already have at home(aka eat everything in my fridge). Well shall see how it goes. This morning I finished the last of my cereal. Its so funny how I can give up somethings so easily and others things it is such a challenge. I think I will go grocery shopping later(to stock up on fresh fruit and veggies).

In other news, I found out that another student dropped out of our program(I was shocked but I guess that would explain our last interaction). So last night in class, someone decided to put bets on who would leave next. I told the person that if they transferred, they could just keep their money. Graduate school is stressful, doctoral programs are stressful. That’s just the nature of the beast. Who knows why people decide to make the decisions that they do, but I am not going to put someone down because of it. I just get sad because I will miss those people. I think that my cohort is a tad competitive but just like in running, I am only in competition with myself. Each day, I want to be better than I was the day before.

Where are you looking for gratitude?

Shalom

Namaste

6 responses »

  1. I always try to be more grateful and sometimes it’s hard. I feel bad if I complain about grad school because being a single parent I know the statistics to even finish undergrad are fairly low. And I should be grateful that I even have the opportunity to go to grad.school but dang sometimes it’s ruff! But then I realize how. Truly lucky I am And I brush it off. I mean all semesters end…..eventually right?!!? Ha! I do always find gratefullness in being a mother. Its the best thing about me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The thing is for me, we put ourselves in grad school. It was our choice to apply and/or see it through. Yes all semesters do end, but we just started this new one lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

