Focusing on Prayer

Standard

Yesterday The Single Woman(TSW) posted a prayer on Twitter. It was as follows: God, please protect my heart, show me anything I need to see, and remove anyone from my life who doesn’t belong there. Amen. Short and simple and to the point. In the new year I always try to refocus on what God may be trying to tell me or trying to do in my life(because sometimes I am not as aware or tuned in). One way to be able to focus is to have as minimal distraction as possible especially from energy drainers or people who just aren’t moving forward with me.

Over the holidays my family gifted me with some much needed prayer journals. I also ordered a couple of devotionals(I really like devotionals to help keep me on track when I just can’t think of what I need to focus on for quiet time). I know that I have a few devotionals in my storage but I will have to get to them when I can.

Anyway, yesterday’s devotional reading discussed God’s pursuit of us(like what were the moments in your life where you knew that God was pursuing you). I feel like God has been pursuing me since my conception. No matter how far I think I have gotten away from the Lord, He is always there waiting for me and loving me just as much as before. Because His love never fails(*cue the worship song* “Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me”). That is such an awesome concept and how so do we need to extend this love to ourselves and others. Sometimes I spend so much energy beating myself up or putting myself down that it seems as if I am beyond loveable but in reality God’s love is more powerful than any noise I can imagine.

So I am taking simple steps to breathe and connect with the source of my strength. That is what helps guide me through the wonderful, interesting journey called life. When I think about the moments and breathe in and out, things seem to work out just the way they are supposed to.

Today’s devotional discussed the things that we put up that block us in essence from the sunlight of the spirit. Those times when we tell God that we know more than He does and we can do it all on our own. That was huge for me. Given the right moment, I can use anything and everything to keep me from hearing what God is actually saying. Its pride and ego plain and simple. Those moments when I think anything and everything else is more important than stopping, praying and reading the Word in order to find out what my next step should be or how I should actually handle a situation. I also use those handy moments of perfectionism and judgement that make me think that I am all powerful and that I am the best thing ever when in reality, I am only who and where I am because of God’s generous grace and mercy. These reminders help to reduce my ego and reframe my thoughts to God and His will. Do I have all of the answers for how and why God works in our lives and in the world around us, no but thank goodness I don’t have to either. Prayer is a huge reducer of ego, it is a time in space where we say “I don’t run anything, I am nothing without you”. This also extends to the grace that we have to show others.

Am I bitter and sad at my stumbling attempts at having a relationship sure. But I have no reason to be bitter towards those guys who didn’t want to have a relationship with me because it just wasn’t meant to be. I have to extend grace to them by praying for them and just quietly disappearing from the situations that I have found myself in so that I can regroup and move on. It is so much easier to move on when I don’t have a ton of emotions and heart invested due to unrealistic expectations. I am still a work in progress but atleast I am working the kinks out through prayer 🙂

So here’s to new growth in the new year!

Shalom

Namaste

2 responses »

  1. I wouldn’t consider myself a religious person, though I am definitely a believer in a life of purpose and the idea that ultimately LOVE fuels the Universe. Reading your thoughts has reminded me of a time in my life when I felt I would never find a someone to share my life with. By the time I was thirty, I had had many unsuccessful relationships, the worst of which I had been essentially dumped by my “fiancé” while facing a terminal cancer diagnosis and bankruptcy. (Yikes!) This was obviously a dark time for me and after a while I gave up hope of ever finding someone… And then, out of the blue, I did. 😦

    I read your post with the dating-rainbow analogy and wanted to remind you that what I (and other readers of this blog) see in your writing is a thoughtful, complex, and totally unique person. If you are truly yourself in every amazing, messy, and multifaceted way, it makes sense that you won’t be able to easily find a perfect match. Not that it has to be hard either. I just wanted to say that every man could never make a person like you happy… just a very special ONE.

    Don’t worry about all men, they have nothing to do with what you are looking for. If there’s a guy out there who is perfect for you (and I truly believe there is) he will be amazing, messy, multifaceted and unique just like you. It may take a while to find him. That said, when you do it will be well worth it.

    Like

  2. Alison,
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. I definitely agree with you. Yes, sometimes it does feel like that ship has sailed and then other times I am filled with bursts of hope. Yes, I definitely try to be as true to myself as possible. Thank you so much for your encouragement. You are just one more example of how things do work out how they are meant to.
    Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

