“I’m not from Detroit, I’m from…”

Standard

amemoryleak

I got a comment on this post from my good friend Gemma from The Gemma Diaries asking “Do you consider yourself to be from Detroit?” Gemma and I are from the same city, a suburb 13 miles outside of Detroit. We met junior year of high school when my school closed and I was sent to hers.

Growing up, we never said we were from Detroit. It was always “Metro Detroit”, “Detroit Area”, or “have you heard of Dearborn? Near there.” When I moved to Ann Arbor a few years ago, I began to notice a difference.

View original post 233 more words

Leave a Reply

