When You Walk Down The Street Fully Covered

Standard

Over the weekend I ran my usual errands. Mail, grocery store, storage(in that order). The only thing different really was my outfit. Usually I don’t care what I am wearing(workout clothes most days after a run). In case you don’t check out social media, the internet was in an uproar over a video that depicts a woman being street harassed in New York(which did not depict all of the men who street harassed her but I digress). I had on loose jeans, a cardigan, a scarf, and boots.

As I was on my way home, listening to music. A guy honked his horn at me. I ignored it. He circled back around. He rolled down his window and yelled at me to get my attention(I was ignoring him). I took out one earbud and said that I was good. He told me to smile. I didn’t. He asked me where I was going and if I needed a ride. I said no. I kept walking. He said that he was just trying to get to know me. I again said that I was good. As I crossed the street a middle aged guy saw me and said “Miss, I saw that guy, he was no good”. I replied back yeah, that it happens all of the time.

I relayed this message on Facebook. A few older friends told me to watch out for that guy. I replied that it is every other car. Literally. I grew up in a church that taught that we had to dress modestly lest we tempt a man. Well, I am here to let you know, we should dress modestly to honor God and ourselves because at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what you wear, a man will still attempt to degrade you.

I was stunned because even though it happens so often, I thought that it wouldn’t happen since I was completely covered head to foot(as more conservative ladies are). So now I’m just frustrated. Why do men think it is okay to talk to women anyway they want to and then get surprised at the outcome?

Shalom

Namaste

6 responses »

  1. This has happened to me before. Sadly, it happened the most when I was a teenager walking alone. Always much older men offering rides. I don’t think it has as much to do with what we wear as with (perhaps) a perceived vulnerability. I love this: “…we should dress modestly to honor God and ourselves”. That sums it up. So glad you were willing to share your experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Entitlement. Many men feel threatened by the idea that women aren’t there for their pleasure. It’s sick. We need to start teaching our sons to honor women and honor themselves by not degrading fellow human beings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

