Seven Words

Standard

Khalil Gibran once said that people will never understand one another unless language is reduced to seven words. What would your seven words be. This concept made my brain light up. How could I limit my vocabulary to seven essential words. At first I thought of a phrase “I love you more than you will ever know”. I love people and I love telling that to the people who I care about the most. But when I think about communication and what we need to be able to say and understand in order to communicate, I think of my time spent in Korea.

I remember the first moment that I realized that most Koreans did not care about what I was saying in English because they did not know enough English to understand me let alone have a conversation. I remember when my church offered Korean classes and how it clicked with me that Korean was phonetic. Piece by piece I began to understand the language and the world around me. I pretty much learned the basics. I learned how to ask for what I needed, I learned how to say hello and goodbye and to tell someone that I enjoyed meeting them/seeing them. Of course I gathered a small collection of Korean books but it didn’t make sense until I had class with native speakers.

So, thinking about seven words that I would need to communicate, I think my words would be hello, goodbye, love, chocolate, and joy. If I can communicate these basic things to others, I think life would flow a tad more smoothly. I think most of our communication does boil down to some form of these words.

What an interesting thought to think about the essential things that we would need to live and coexist with others.

So, what would your seven words be?

Shalom

Namaste

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

