Jaded

Standard

So this morning on Twitter, there is a lively discussion about the fact that we actually do have a Surgeon General(acting), so I had to breathe a sigh of relief, now I could stop chiming in that we don’t have one. So, of course I looked up his info and then I just realized that he has deferred all Ebola related info/comment/discussion to the CDC.

Then someone mentioned that there is a letter writing campaign. Then I asked the question of how many letters had to be written before our public officials took notice. It took me back to my social service snafu and how I emailed and wrote letters to local, state, and national officials and I got stock replies back.

I think a wave of jadedness just hit me(yeah I probably just made that word up). So, I think I’m tired of arguing. I’m tired of trying to get people to listen. I’m just tired. So I’m waving the white flag of angry black woman down. I mean can you imagine how many stamps it would take for me to write a letter to every single member of the house, senate, and the president’s crew? I mean don’t get me wrong, I won’t stop voting, but I can’t do everything for everyone and I hate when people act like I have to be in the position to do so(that’s what it feels like sometimes).

So, all I can say is keep putting one foot in front of the other and vote(in every election that you can). Also, pick your battles because if you engage in the wrong one, it could take you out of the bigger battle before you even have a chance to start.

Shalom

Namaste

Leave a Reply

