Giving Up The Good For The Great

Standard

I (like a lot of people) spend a lot of time on Twitter(okay Facebook and Twitter both). There is a hashtag called #phdchat Its basically a space of Twitter where everyone talks about anything and everything related to Ph.ds. Its pretty awesome. I love to read it and sometimes I chime in if I know what I am talking about.

Well, today someone asked the question about the Ph.d being a solitary, isolating pursuit. I chimed in with my best advice. Which is focus, dig in, and keep pushing. One of my most respected professors told me that this kind of study is very solitary. You have to spend a lot of time working on various things to get you to your goal. Then another well respected professor told me that you have to attack your topic like a dog with a bone. You just have to keep at it.

I am taking these words to heart. I am also trying to just take things one day at a time(just like my recovery). I think my assignments are starting to click so that I have more time to focus on my papers. I just cringe when I have to tell people that much of my time is spent in the library because that is where I prefer to be. So, I make these little deals with myself like since I got my code done five or so days early, I can go to the get together after church on Sunday.

So when I am not focused on my work, or at work, or sleeping, I am really focused on Ebola. That’s one of the reasons why my twitter feed is filled with Ebola related topics. I now see that many are engaged in the same tactics as were raised during the early days of HIV and AIDS. I am interested in it because it is fascinating(just from a life perspective but also from a public health perspective). I think it is important for everyone to be informed and do what you can to be smart about your health, that will help a lot.

So when I am not focused completely on myself, I continue to pray for our global community because at the end of the day, only God knows our next steps. I am grateful for all that is in front of me and I juggle my fears on a moment by moment basis(today has been great so far).

Well, back to my paper because it isn’t going to write itself 🙂

Shalom

Namaste

Leave a Reply

