Fasting

Standard

     The Ramadan season is upon us. This is a time of renewal for my Muslim friends. Not only is it an act of faith but it is also a test of true strength and character.
     A few years ago my Muslim students invited me to participate but I was too chicken,  get it. Yesterday I had the opportunity to sit down with a woman of faith and we talked about prayer and fasting. This morning someone that I look up to in the Twitterverse wrote about her Ramadan experience as a person of non faith.
     As strong of a Christian I like to think I am, I have never fasted. I always think about it but food seems to get in the way. I heard a speaker say that she actually worked the steps on food. So, in honor of these series of events, I have decided to be more mindful about food, specifically my relationship with food.
     As you all know, I am trying to lose weight. It has been a struggle. I think this past week was an improvement. So here’s to being mindful.
     I had a great conversation with SP. He is doing well. I talked to him about stuff that was bothering me(like how I get on my own nerves sometimes). He really is a great guy and I’m praying that I can let go and let God lead. He said that he mailed me a letter,  now I’m just wondering how long it will take to get here. I told him tomorrow is my birthday since he didn’t attempt to guess. He said he liked the pics and he thinks I look great(did I mention he was nice?).
So here’s to learning and growing in a great relationship! Its so different from what I have experienced before. I’m just going to keep telling myself that I deserve it.
     I finished one homework assignment and plan on working on the other one later. I plan to get some overdue laundry done this week. I managed to read a few books.
Here’s to adventure!
Shalom
Namaste

Leave a Reply

