Remembering Maya

Standard

Image

     I woke up this morning to sad news. Hearing that one of our greatest gifts had gone to heaven. Maya you will be forever missed. Thank you for your courage, faith, hope, and beauty. Thank you for teaching us all how to live boldly, love strongly, and share freely. Words do not express all that you have impressed upon our hearts. 

     I remember the first time I read “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings”. I was in high school, still trying to find my way in the world. I mean some days I still am. Your amazing truth helped me to know that I would make it. I could also live freely. I no longer had to be a caged bird, I could fly. Your words gave me wings. 

     You taught me how to love every part of myself and to love every part of someone else. You taught me that my voice matters. You taught me how to be comfortable in my awkward uniqueness. You taught me what it means to walk in the light of love. These are just some of the things that you taught me. 

     You showed me how to care for the global community. You showed me how to navigate the rocky roads of life. You showed me how to live out my purpose and never let my light die out. You showed me the importance of helping others and how we grow together. You showed me resilience. You showed me true self confidence. You showed me how to be me. 

     Although I did not have the chance to meet you in this life, I know that your words and gifts surround me like a blanket of love and help to mold me into the person I am to become. The world is a better place because of the joy and wisdom that you gave to it. You will never be forgotten. You will be kept in our hearts and minds like a warm light guiding our way to our purpose. Thank you for your insight and laughter. 

Shalom

Namaste

Leave a Reply

