Grace

Standard

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.” Ephesians 2:8
     I had a conversation with a friend last night about my blog and how I was trying to think of things to write about. She mentioned grace. I thought it was a good idea but I was too tired to write about it.
     So here I am. When I think of grace, I usually think of God’s grace for us. I see God’s grace as all consuming and covering a multitude of my shortcomings. I don’t have to ask God for grace,  He freely gives it. Even though I do my best to ask for it.
     My grace for others is kind of like a big vat. I do my best to offer it to others when needed and other times I withhold it just because a person didn’t ask for it. I’m human. I can recognize that.
     My grace for myself ebbs and flows like waves. On good days it rushes in like high tide and on not so good days it is hidden like water in the desert.  The more grace that I am able to show to myself and others, the more open I am to joy. Not just joy but all of the other things in life that money can’t buy. Like peace and serenity. If these are the things that I want to have more of, I have to be open to them. I have to stay open to them.
Shalom
Namaste

Leave a Reply

