Washing The Feet Lent Day 41

Standard

“…And here he shows the full extent of love
To us whose love is always incomplete,
In vain we search the heavens high above,
The God of love is kneeling at our feet.
Though we betray him, though it is the night
He meets us here and loves us into light.”

Malcolm Guite, from Sounding the Seasons, pp 36

     The idea that Jesus would wash the feet of people was considered a very revolutionary act. Jesus showed that He could be of service to those around Him and not view Himself as greater(out of love). I usually only hear about foot washing around Easter time. A few years ago, I had the opportunity to be a part of a foot washing ceremony. It was such a beautiful and humbling experience. 

     It shows me that it is so important to always be humble toward others and to seek out the good, along with being of service as often as I can. Sometimes I find that I can be of service just by being quiet and listening to what is going on around me. Being comfortable enough to be quiet is something new for me, I am still working at it and I am learning a lot from it. 

     I called myself working hard on a school project and when I pulled a classmate aside she brought some things to my attention and things just seemed to flow better. While I was focused on that I forgot that I had another project to start, so I am attempting to do both today. I am seeing a bit of the light at the end of the tunnel. 

     I started the Oprah and Deepak Chopra meditation series and it is really helpful. Just what I need to get centered and on the right path for the day. 

     Hope you have a great day!

Namaste

Leave a Reply

