Love Lent Day 37

Standard

The tree of love its roots hath spread
Deep in my heart, and rears its head;
Rich are its fruits: they joy dispense;
Transport the heart, and ravish sense.|
In love’s sweet swoon to thee I cleave,
Bless’d source of love . . .
(Saint Francis of Assisi)

     What would you do for love? What does love compel you to do? What does love mean to you? Is it true that all we need is love? The love that I have or show will never equal the love God shows for me each day. I am thankful that I have Christ to serve as the ultimate example of love in action. 

     Today I worked out. I ate fairly well. I had a pretty easy going day, until I decided to watch 12 Years A Slave. A few friends tried to warn me not to see it, but I was already watching it. It didn’t make me cry(even though parts of it did make me sad). It made me have even more love, respect, and admiration for all who came before us to give us the lives we have today. I was tripped out at the slaves having actual intellectual conversations with the masters and overseers. I didn’t know that slaves were allowed to do that. It was also eye opening to see lynchings and the other slaves having to go about their daily activities. I think 12 Years A Slave is one movie that everyone needs to see. 

     It also made me think about the things that we are enslaved to today. What areas of life are we living out a form of slavery? An abusive relationship, a toxic friendship, an indentured work situation. You name it and I am sure you can find elements of slavery in all parts of life. In one of the beginning parts of the film, the slave captors ask Solomon where his ‘papers’ are. We ask this same question of immigrants and Native Americans. There are also elements of this when we are asked for our voter registration cards at election time. 

     Today I found out that Republicans denied the Equal Pay Act to be approved in the Senate. I cannot tell you the number of people on Facebook who did not believe me when I mentioned it. I think there are so many issues going on in our world that it is easier for people to turn a blind eye to them rather than face them. 

     Here’s something kind of petty. I hold grudges. When people do me wrong(I mean blatantly not imagined), I hold a grudge. Well, one person who I will always have on my do not like list is a person who set me up my sophomore year of high school. Well, I found out that one of my close friends is Facebook friends with her. See, in my mind I think that all of my friends should not like all of the people that I don’t like and I will do the same for them. Will the universe change? No, its just an annoyance that I have. 

     I saw a video the other day about positive people and it mentioned not having negative people in your life. Well, I decided to weed some negative people out of my life. I deleted two today. I try to keep my social media positive and it does seem odd to have people who insult my intelligence or only seem to know how to type the ‘f’ word. 

     Class went pretty well. I still can’t believe the semester is almost over. So I will be spending the weekend working on a critique and a proposal with my group. I am planning on doing this the smart way by spacing it out in a nice even fashion(and also by starting tomorrow). 

     I forgot to wash my hair today. I decided to try out this trick where you oil your hair and then wash it(new to me). I hope that tomorrow is a good day and that I can just focus on the love. I found out that a popular African American blogger/vlogger committed suicide. As I looked at her Facebook, I noticed that people commented asking her why she did it. There really never is a good reason why people commit suicide. The better question is what can we do to help people who are in severe, intense pain. 

Be blessed

Namaste

     

Leave a Reply

