Abide In Me Lent Day 27

Standard

O Lord Jesus
Please abide with me
Dispel my deep loneliness!
No one can be my companion forever
But you are the Lord who is everywhere
Present at all times
Only you are my dear companion and savior.
In the long dark night
Along the silent shadowy pathways
I beg you to grasp my hand.
When others have forgotten me
Please remember me in eternity!
In the healing and saving name of Jesus I pray.
Amen.

     Sometimes you have moments where God is close and other moments where He seems far away. In those moments where God seems far away, we can call out and ask that He abide with us. I feel so much comfort and joy when I feel closer to God. The times when I don’t feel close, are when I feel like I am just going in a circle and I can’t seem to find my way out of it. 

     In church we sing a song that says “Precious Lord, take my hand”, it is such a moving and soul rendering song. When we sing it, I feel like the heavens are open and we are right there with the angels. Sometimes I just have to stop everything that I am doing and just pray or sing out in worship. I don’t think God cares how long we are in those times of need, just as long as we seek Him. 

     Sometimes I need to seek God just to get me through to my next moment. Like when I am looking at my laundry pile. I need God’s strength to put it away. Or like yesterday, when I knew that I needed to work out and my body just wanted to be lazy. Yep, I had to say a prayer to get my body in motion. I felt so much better after my run. 

     I had to say a few prayers after seeing the news about Fort Hood yesterday. So I prayed for all of our troops and their families. I also reached out to my family and told them that I loved them. For me it is the small things that make big moments. Then I had to pray again when I heard people criticizing our troops. What did I do? I prayed and then deleted those people. I was too tired to blog about it last night but I mentioned that I am a full military supporter and I cannot be friends with people who don’t because our troops put their lives on the line everyday for our freedom(including our freedom of speech). 

     I know you are probably thinking, why would I care about what other people think or do? I just do. I try not to. But at the end of the day, I wonder if it is just a character defect. I am trying to work on it. I just don’t like when people attempt to hurt other people. I know what that feels like. So I do my best not to participate in hate fests, but I still feel hurt when I hear about it. I feel hurt when I hear about criticism/negativity. 

     So now one of my plans of action is to pray more. Pray for people first before I attempt to school someone on how much of a jerk they are being. I know that people say that people can’t make you feel things, but I feel everything. So, even though I don’t really have a good answer for why we feel the things we do, I would rather support someone in their feelings rather than tell them that they are being irrational. Even if I am being irrational in a thought or idea, does that mean that I can just be rid of the irrational thought at the snap of a finger?For instance, if I am in five different situations and all of the situations end up with the same actual events happening, I do not think my belief about the real events is irrational(because they actually happened). 

     In the meantime, I will focus on my laundry and other things that I need to do in order to get through this day. 

Namaste

     

Leave a Reply

