Brown Girls Do Yoga Too/An Ode To Yoga

Standard

     I love yoga. It makes me feel strong. It gives me flexibility. It helps me clear my head. Yoga is awesome. I always encourage my friends and family to try it. I saw a big to do about an article about a black girl in a yoga class(written by a non black girl). I thought that the article was uncalled for. Of course people of all color do yoga. Yoga doesn’t have a color. It is for everyone. 

     So, I thought that I would have my famous twitter friends discuss it with the head of the magazine(because that is how they roll) and then someone responded to me that I needed to write a response essay. Oh please. Do you really think the head of the magazine that I have lost all respect for is going to read my article? No, because she never read my comments on her magazine’s website(where I was trashed and drug through the mud for talking about the affordability of healthy food). 

     So here is my attempt at an essay that does not involve curse words(yeah when I get really mad, I curse). The article was racist trash and I don’t think it should have been published. I don’t care if the poster child is a black editor(not all black people actually care about black people). So if you read the article and it made you mad, go do yoga somewhere else. In fact do a pose every time you think about the article. Do some deep breathing too. Because racists cannot speak for us. Yoga is for everyone. Yoga is universal. 

     Namaste

2 responses »

  1. You kept it classy! That speaks volumes about how much better your yoga practice is than her’s. The head of the magazine may not read your post, but I did and it mattered to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

