Christians And The Pill

Standard

     I just read an article(that I retweeted) about Christians views on birth control. I enjoyed the article but I also let the author know that cost is not the reason why so many people are not on birth control. There are so many venues to get free or low cost birth control, it makes no sense that so many people are having unwanted pregnancies.

    Yes, I am a conservative leaning Christian. I am also a Black woman(with some other things mixed in). As a result, I have had numerous cases of sexual abuse in my life(I won’t quote all of the stats here). So when I came to a point in my life where I made choices for myself concerning sex, I made the decision to use birth control. I don’t think that using birth control makes you a bad Christian.

     When I was growing up, we were taught to save sex for marriage(which I actually never got to save because I had been raped repeatedly as a child). So, my point is it is easy for people to be pro life until they are raped and left with a child as a result. I don’t believe that anyone should be allowed to make decisions about a woman’s body except a woman. I also get tired of people talking badly about all of the young teens who have children(they are having those children because they too don’t believe in birth control).

     I said all of that to say that at the end of the day, a woman’s body is her body and the only true judge of it is God. I would not say that someone who uses birth control is any less of a Christian than someone who does not. God loves us all. Life is too short for me to lay blame at others. We are all on our own life’s journey.

     I think my life is so much better off when I don’t spend time judging others. The time that I would spend judging someone could be time spent praying for them. Yes, I believe we all need more prayer in our lives. Also, if I am saying anything that you consider to be offensive, please pray for me and then delete me from whatever social media outlet you may be reading this from.

Peace

Leave a Reply

