Running To Remember

Standard

     Today I ran my miles in silence(no headphones) to remember a local runner who was brutally murdered in a park a few days ago. As I ran, I took in my surroundings and I thought about the runner. I also thought about what I would do if someone tried to attack me on a run. I prayed. There are really depraved people in the world. That is one reason why it is so important to be safe and use your instincts when you are in a weird situation. 

     A few safety tips when running alone would be to have a phone or someone near by whose phone you could use(I will ask someone to use their phone in a heartbeat). Wear reflective clothing and shoes. Know your surroundings. If someone gives you a bad vibe, run away from them and change your route. Run in the daytime or in well lit areas. Know the people in your neighborhood(I may not know all of my neighbors by name, but I know them by face and they sure as rain know me). If you can run with a friend(I personally don’t like to run with others unless I’m in a race) but I understand that a lot of people like to run with friends, so do that. 

   As I ran I thought of every move I could use if someone tried to attack me. Then I felt sorry for the next person who attempted to attack me because they would be facing a world of pent up frustration and hurt due to not unleashing my self defense in the past. When or if someone is trying to hurt you, you always have the right to defend yourself. Your adrenaline should kick in and if it doesn’t scream, bite, kick, do whatever you have to do to save yourself. Because sadly you may not know when help will come. I also remembered that runners are a tough bunch. We know pain and we know how to push through. I hope to always remember why I run and that we all matter. The news reported that the attacker was arrested. I’m sure more news will be available leading up to his trial.  My prayers are with the runner’s family and friends. 

Shalom

Leave a Reply

