To NaNo Or Not To NaNo?

Standard

     Hello, it is day five of NaNoWriMo. I don’t remember who first told me about it, but it always sounded exciting. Until I tried to write a story and I couldn’t. I believe that was back in 2006. Well, I am currently an active NaNoWriMo participant. To non writers, I know it must seem weird to want to write 50,000 words in a month. But the catch is, if your story gets picked, it can get published. That is the dream of all writers. Yes, because even though some say they write just because, deep down they want tons of people to read it. 

     Here is my rant. I just read a blog about a writer who is anti-NaNo. Why would you tell someone not to write? When I was teaching, the only reason why I told any minority teaching prospect not to do it was because of what I had to go through(my real experience). I have taught kids in some form or fashion since I was seven. So, when I was given rejection after rejection in the teaching field, I took a hard look at myself and I realized it wasn’t my fault. I just wasn’t what principals and school districts wanted(as they amazingly awed at my resume). That’s not reality, that’s politics. So I changed my life plan. I still don’t know where my journey is going to end. 

     People are not going to lose money because they choose to take time out of their day and commit to writing. If you write a book and get tons of rejections, I think that is ok because at least you succeeded in writing the book. I know I may face that and I plan to be happy that I wrote my story. 

      So if you are reading this and have any inkling that you have a story in you that needs to get out, just go for it and don’t worry about the haters 🙂

Shalom

Leave a Reply

