More Contentment Less Control Freak

Standard

     This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it. Amen. In case you were wondering, for this devotional, I have been summarizing my thoughts on the Jesus Calling devotional. I think I am getting used to it. It takes an  idea and makes it simple. Basically more God less me. 

     We as believers strive to be content with our present circumstances. But some of us super special believers(me included) just aren’t quite happy until we have everything under control. Yes I said we. It is a total delusion, but we live and die by it daily. We think that God is in control of the big stuff and that he gives us control over everything else. Until we find out that’s not quite true. He wants control of it all. God promises to give us peace and contentment when we give everything over to Him. So why is it so hard(every other hour?). Obviously, I still haven’t figured it out, otherwise I would be a very wise and rich woman. You know what the Bible says about being wise in our own eyes(yep, not good). 

     The solution is more prayer time and more listening. Yes, you know meditation. Where I am quiet for a time and let God speak to me. My life has never gone wrong when I spent more time in prayer and meditation. The pastor challenged us at church to spend more time in prayer. I know that is never bad, but my reaction was “Um, hello I have been doing that forever”. Yeah I have stuff to work on. So my plan is to have my stopwatch on so I can actually see how long it takes me. 

     I hope you have a blessed day today 🙂

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12(NIV)

Leave a Reply

